The real revolt of small investors

Forget Gamestop, AMC, Robinhood, and Reddit. This is where the real revolt of small investors takes place.

We recently learned in La Presse that Desjardins is facing a class action request from investors who accuse it of having imposed unjustified fees on their mutual funds since 2005. Two other Canadian banks (RBC and TD) face the same charges.

It’s about time!

Indeed, the alleged ploy in these 3 lawsuits has long been known: the bulk of mutual fund assets are not actively “managed”. Rather, they are simply replicating the market index. As early as 1992, it was shown that 97% of the return of the largest mutual fund in the world at the time (Fidelity’s Magellan fund) was nothing other than the replication of the index[1]. Things did not improve afterward because in 2004, 99% of the return on this fund tracked the index!

Why in the world do investors tolerate passive index returns when they are charged more than 2% in fees for active management? Quite simply because they do not know it! Here’s how it works: it’s RRSP season and you walk into your bank branch to seek advice on your investments. Your “advisor” offers you a ready-made solution for your needs: the mutual fund managed by the same bank and which suits your investor profile. Of course, you are invited to read the prospectus, but it is 300 pages long! Either way, you tell yourself that if your banker offers you this particular fund, it must be the one that best serves your interests.

False!

In Canada, financial institutions must offer you a product that is “suitable” for your profile, but generally are not obligated to offer you one that is in your best interests. What is the difference? Annual fees that are 1% to 2% too high. In fact, the fees on the average mutual fund in Canada are around 2% annually, whereas you can invest in an exchange-traded fund – which essentially holds the same securities as the bank’s fund – for which the fees are as low as 0.05%. In the long run, up to 50% of your returns are eaten by fees. The difference between a comfortable retirement and life on a tight budget!

The other fundamental question is this: why aren’t these managers trying to outperform the index by actively managing their funds? The answer is just as simple: they are unable! The numbers speak for themselves: 97% of Canadian equity mutual funds have underperformed the index for the past 5 years[2]. Indeed, their average annual return is about 2% less than the index. No surprise here: they hold the same stocks as the index and charge 2% in fees.

Let’s hope that the Superior Court of Quebec will agree to hear the case of these investors. In the meantime, there is no shortage of alternatives to mutual funds from Canadian financial institutions. For the minority of investors who are truly autonomous, it is possible to build a diversified portfolio of exchange-traded funds with a discount broker commission free. For the majority of investors – those who need an advisor to develop and implement their financial plan – there are independent investment advisers who, unlike your banker, have an obligation to always act in your best interests. Join the revolt!

[1]  Measuring the True Cost of Active Management by Mutual Funds, Ross. M. Miller, Journal of Investment Management, Vol. 5, No. 1, (2007), pp. 29–49

[2]   SPIVA® Statistics & Reports, as at June 30th, 2020

La vraie révolte des petits investisseurs

Oubliez Gamestop, AMC, Robinhood et Reddit. C’est ici que se passe la vraie révolte des petits investisseurs.

On apprenait dans La Presse récemment que Desjardins fait face à une demande d’action collective de la part d’investisseurs qui l’accusent de leur avoir imposé des frais injustifiés sur leurs fonds communs de placement depuis 2005. Deux autres banques canadiennes (RBC et TD) font face aux mêmes accusations.

Il était temps!

En effet, le stratagème allégué dans ces 3 poursuites est connu depuis longtemps : la majeure partie des actifs des fonds mutuels n’est pas « gérée » activement. Au contraire, ils répliquent tout simplement l’indice boursier. Déjà en 1992, il avait été démontré que 97% du rendement du plus grand fonds mutuel au monde à l’époque (le fonds Magellan de Fidelity) n’était rien d’autre que la réplication de l’indice[1]. Les choses ne se sont pas améliorées par la suite puisqu’en 2004, c’est 99% du rendement de ce fonds qui répliquait l’indice!

Pourquoi diable les investisseurs tolèrent-ils qu’on leur « passe un indice » alors qu’on leur charge plus de 2% de frais? Tout simplement parce qu’ils ne le savent pas! Vous savez comment ça se passe : c’est la saison des REER et vous entrez dans votre succursale bancaire pour demander conseil sur vos placements. Votre « conseiller » vous propose une solution toute faite pour vos besoins : le fonds mutuel géré par cette même banque et qui convient à votre profil d’investisseur. Bien sûr, on vous invite à lire le prospectus mais il fait 300 pages! De toute façon, vous vous dites que si votre banquier vous propose ce fonds en particulier, c’est que ce doit être celui qui sert le mieux vos intérêts.

Erreur!

Au Canada, les institutions financières doivent vous offrir un produit qui « convient » à votre profil mais n’ont généralement pas l’obligation de vous offrir celui qui est dans votre meilleur intérêt. Quelle est la différence? Des frais annuels de 1% à 2% trop élevés. En effet, les frais sur le fonds mutuel moyen au Canada sont d’environ 2% annuellement, alors qu’on peut investir dans un fonds négocié en bourse – qui détient essentiellement les mêmes titres que le fonds de la banque – pour lequel les frais sont aussi bas que 0,05%. À long terme, ce peut être près de 50% de votre rendement qui s’envole ainsi en frais. La différence entre une retraite confortable et la petite vie sur balconville!

L’autre grande question qu’on doit poser est pourquoi ces gestionnaires ne tentent-ils pas d’offrir un rendement supérieur à l’indice en gérant activement leurs fonds? La réponse est tout aussi simple : ils en sont incapables! Il suffit en effet de regarder les résultats pour vous en convaincre : 97% des fonds mutuels d’actions canadiennes ont offert un rendement inférieur à l’indice depuis 5 ans[2]. Sans grande surprise, leur rendement annuel moyen est environ 2% de moins que l’indice. Normal : ils achètent les mêmes titres que l’indice et chargent 2% de frais.

Souhaitons que la Cour supérieure du Québec accepte d’entendre la cause de ces investisseurs. En attendant, il ne manque pas d’alternatives aux fonds mutuels des institutions financières canadiennes. Pour la minorité des investisseurs qui sont vraiment autonomes, il est possible de constituer un portefeuille diversifié de fonds négociés en bourse chez un courtier à escompte sans même avoir à payer de commission. Pour la majorité des investisseurs – ceux qui ne peuvent se passer d’un conseiller pour élaborer et mettre place leur plan financier –   il existe des conseillers en placement indépendants qui, contrairement à votre banquier, ont l’obligation de toujours agir dans votre meilleur intérêt. Joignez la révolte!

[1]Measuring the True Cost of Active Management by Mutual Funds, Ross. M. Miller, Journal of Investment Management, Vol. 5, No. 1, (2007), pp. 29–49

[2] SPIVA® Statistics & Reports, au 30 juin 2020